Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.98106060606 out of 5 with 1170 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

18 yr in Bariatrics

18 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

18 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

1170 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Totally Amazing experience (and decision)…. The medical care, the professionalism, the kindness, the politeness, the surroundings all very top notch from the very, very start from when deciding…. all the way through when we entered Mexico, during the stay and until we left Mexico and even until now three months later they are there if needed because of technology and their care for their patients — sending videos, emails, updates, checking in with you —very dependable. I have had medical care in over 5 different countries from traveling and working overseas the last 30 years …. And the Endo (Endobariatrics) Hospital in Mexico is high end and just as good if not better than any US, UK, Australian, Italian hospital /medical clinic. Don’t fall for the high and outrageous prices of USA/UK surgeries/procedures when you can get the same or even better care for much, much less (even $10K less) by traveling that extra mile to another place. There is NOTHING to fear at all by going to an alternative place if you have done your research. I have had many friends in California, England and Australia who have had this VGS procedure done and most were only day patients and went home the same day as this surgery ….this should not ever be the case, you should stay for 2-3 nights after surgery to make sure all is good. This gives you such a peace of mind. With Dr. Alvarez’s patients you are there for 3 nights and 4 days (which is unheard of in America because it is all about making money, “get them in and out” in the USA). It was relaxing, great energy from all the staff/Dr.’s, all constantly checking on you and your every need, explaining everything very clearly in English if need be. You are given all your meds/aftercare info when you leave with clear instructions…. Even if you have questions you can always call or email. If you know this procedure is what you need and what you want then you should not hesitate. There really are no excuses not to choose Dr. Alvarez and/or Endobariatrics because they are great but there is financing available and if you can’t fly you can always drive with a loved one or friends. You could even make a holiday out of it as well. I felt fine when I was released no worries and knew I was well cared for during my stay when leaving (tired but fine and very motivated). You can succeed if you choose this procedure and follow doctor’s orders and do the work …. I believe you should choose Dr. Alvarez, his team, his hospital, his dedication and his decades of experience and his wonderful bedside manner. Please Go for it sooner than later…. Make the decision your mind, body and soul will thank you.

Feb. 18, 2024

Overall
avatar

I had my surgery back in July 2023 with Dr. A it was one of the best decisions I had made in my life. Dr. A and his team were the best they made me feel like I was home, any questions I had or concerns they were answered. I highly recommend him some of my friends and family already had surgery with him or are booking it. I feel so confident in my skin and see the changes in my body I'm little by little getting to my weight goal!!

Thank you Dr. A and Thank you to your team for this wonderful life changing experience.

Jan. 25, 2024

Overall
avatar

Dr Alvarez is the GOAT! Plain and simple. Everything went perfectly from beginning to end and his nursing staff is second to none. Cannot recommend enough!

Jan. 11, 2024

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez and my surgery consultant Brandi have been everything that I expected and more. My name is Ray Espy, 49 year old male. Retired Fire Fighter/Paramedic that lifted weights and performed at a higher level my entire life until I hit 40 years old. The weight came on slowly and consistently for 10 years, I woke up 348lbs/76inches tall and miserable. Borderline hypertension, probably pre diabetic but not confirmed, sleep apnea that only exacerbated my two other co-morbidities. I tried diets for years and working out more and more, unfortunately I was now experiencing arthritis from a life time of athletics and working out only compounded by extreme excess weight. I decided to have Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy, VSG. I came across a YouTube video of this guy in Mexico performing this surgery and I giggled and moved on because I was not going to Mexico. I researched further and his prices compared to America were cheaper and I was unable to find any poor reviews about his practice. I then noted that his prices were twice as much as Tijuana and I was curious why. I noted he built from scratch a complex that provided all services needed for the client/patient to feel safe and well cared for. His videos gave me a sense of what to expect and what was being performed for years. Brandi was and is a wealth of knowledge and very straight forward with expectations and also results. My wife and I decided to move forward with a couples VSG. We drove to Endobariatric from the Midwest. We crossed into Mexico without incident, arrived at Endobariatric at scheduled time. Warm greetings and escorted to our hotel room. A meet and greet with Dr. Alvarez was exactly what we needed the night before our life changing surgery. Dr. Alvarez took his time talking with all of us. For the next few days, surgery was completed, post operation care was completed and a rest day after was completed. My wife and I were assessed by RN’s and Physicians during those days. My wife and I drove home over two days. We spent about 6-7 hours per day in vehicle with no issues. Immediately after we got home we received emails with post operation instructions and support. Today as I write this review a few days shy of 90 days post VSG I weigh 262lbs, resting HR is 68bpm, BP 116/72, sleeping SPO2 is 97% with no moments of apnea noted. But the most important things to me is that Dr. Alvarez crafted a stomach pouch that has had no complications, provides the proper amount of food and clearing that food, neg post procedure infection, and it was done in a safe and sterile environment. Do not allow the fact that his practice is in Mexico affect your decision. Dr. Alvarez is a world renowned Surgeon and a passionate human. Please take my words and review seriously. After my career dealing with things that can make a person cynical and withdrawn I found praising Dr. Alvarez easy because he deserves it. Give yourself the life you want and deserve, Dr. Alvarez is the only Physician that I believe can help you achieve this with the lowest possibility of complications and continued support for life.
Sincerely,
Ray Espy

Jan. 1, 2024

Overall
avatar

After doing countless research on where to actually get my surgery done, I finally found Dr. Alvarez. Let me tell you it was the best decision of my life. All the staff there treat you like family. The facility was top notch, everything was so clean. Any questions I had were answered, rest assured they will take care of you with anything you have. I am now 5 months post op, and I am down about 70 pounds and I feel amazing. I have gotten used to the new diet changes and doing steady excercise have definitely helped. I am filed with much more energy and no longer get tired easily. Definitely the best decision I have made with Dr. A. Grading everything I would give it 10/10! Thanks so much!

Dec. 26, 2023

Overall
avatar

From the moment I sent my first email inquiry until post surgery, the team at Endobariatrics was beyond attentive and supportive. Dr.Alvarez is truly gifted. A world class surgeon who has the ability to instantly connect to you in a very genuine way and make you feel at ease. The facility was impressive. Attention to detail would be understating what I experienced. Facility 10+ Staff 10+ Surgeon 10+. Dr A, you have given my life back to me and I’m so grateful I made the journey. Thank you.

Dec. 17, 2023

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Doc I can’t thank you enough. I started on February 28, 2023 weighing 317 pounds. My surgery was May 18, 2023 and I now weigh 190 pounds. On 25 pounds from my goal if you are looking for the right guy to take care of you, Its Doc Alvarez. He and his staff are totally amazing. I’ve talked to other people that didn’t use Doc Alvarez and they said they got no after surgery care and were rushed out the door. Doc doesn’t work that way at all. Full after surgery care with his staff at your side the whole time. What a great experience and I have no clue why I didn’t do this earlier. Amazing doctor and amazing staff with amazing results!

Nov. 28, 2023

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr A and his staff treated me like family. Their compassion, attentiveness and kindness made me feel so comfortable and well taken care of. They took the time to answer all my questions and ensured I felt safe every step of the way. Dr A was visible and personally checked on me throughout my stay. It didn’t feel like a hospital but as close to home as it could feel.

Nov. 24, 2023

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

From the moment I found Dr. Alvarez, (aka Dr. A.) on YouTube I felt confident that he was the surgeon for me and the VSG surgery was the right procedure. I have battled obesity since having my first child. Each pregnancy added more weight and like most people struggling with weight, I tried every diet out there. Dr.A’s videos described the procedure in great detail and covered so many before and after questions. I decided at this point it was time to move forward. As soon as I reached out to Brandi I felt supported and important. I was able to choose a surgery date that worked best for me. Any question I had was met with prompt answers and kindness. I felt safe traveling across the border with the Endobariatric driver, and had no issues whatsoever getting to the hospital. As we arrived the day before surgery the staff immediately greeted us with kindness. The hospital is very clean and beautiful, exactly as Dr.A shows in his videos. The whole process was smooth and seamless. The medical staff were very attentive and caring. I’m so thankful to Dr. A and his whole team for their outstanding care!
My entire stay was amazing!
I’m now 7 months post op and everything is going great. I’m steadily losing weight and have no complaints and never had any complications. Choosing to have this surgery with Dr. A was the best decision!

Nov. 23, 2023

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I did lots of research when looking for a provider to do my gastric sleeve. Dr. Guillermo Alvarez with Endobariatric is who I chose and I couldn’t be happier. Everyone I came into contact with was friendly and professional, from the drivers, to the nurses, and of course Dr. Alvarez. Everyone immediately makes you feel comfortable and like family. Once I flew into San Antonio, everything was covered. Transportation to and from the hospital, the labs and tests, overnight stays, medications, the procedure, and more things that I can’t begin to list.

I was given ample information on the procedure, how to prepare, and sent follow up emails which told about the different foods that I could transition to. My favorite part was the picture of the portion of my stomach that was removed. Not many doctors send this so it was really cool to see. Dr. Alvarez also offered the mini sleeve which is the same procedure but uses smaller instruments for smaller scars. I elected to do this one and have no regrets. You can find cheaper surgeons, but you can’t find better. Dr. A has a true passion for VSG and it shows in his work and attitude.

Oct. 31, 2023

1 of 2 people found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.